Day Three

by sarajaneafshar

The Memorial

Today our Constitutional Law professor let us out of class early since some students expressed interest in attending the inter-faith service being held at the Cathedral of the Holy Cross for the victims of the bombings. Some of my classmates wanted to counter-protest a hate group who threatened to attend this service. The hate group wanted to protest for reasons that are not worth repeating here. My professor didn’t want to stop the students from going, but he warned us that hate groups such as this one often garner media attention by starting conflict with counter-protests and even funded their “cause” via litigation and out-of-court settlements they initiate by filing claims against counter-protesters alleging assaults or batteries. I agreed with him, so I wasn’t planning on counter-protesting. I spend so much of my time showing people how I feel, needing to be heard, talking, talking, talking. I just wanted to take the extra time my professor gave us, and run. To run means to be quiet, observe, listen. I laced up and dashed down Tremont. When I got to the Cathedral of the Holy Cross thousands of Bostonians were crowded on the sidewalks. No fear.

Image

People were hanging around, trying to catch a glimpse of the President. Some were still waiting in line, holding out on hope they’d be given a ticket to attend the service. I heard people who lined up at 7AM were still too late. The sidewalks so were so jam-packed I had to stop running because there was no room. Everywhere, people were laughing.

A Town Where Everyone Knows Everyone

If you’ve ever heard me rhapsodize about Boston, you’ve probably heard my tangent about how our small city is the perfect size for a community. It is large enough to get lost in a crowd. Large enough to know there are new people to meet at every corner. There are world-class events that grace our institutions and venues. Every band, comedian, and sports team comes here. We lack nothing. However, the city is small enough (and here’s where this should be sounding familiar) that no matter the season, no matter the part of the city, no matter who I am with I ALWAYS run into someone I know. Boston is big enough for excitement, small enough to cross paths with all your friends. Today was no different. I ran into old co-workers, family friends, and kids from my hometown. Obviously my law school cohorts were gathered in one corner, too. (Even though we all should be in the law library right about now).

Image

After taking in the sights, I turned around and ran back to school. After a long winter, the weather in Boston has been beautiful. Let’s enjoy it.

Image

