Day Eleven

by sarajaneafshar

Finals Season

Property Law awaits me so here it goes!

My Plan– Con Law review session on Stuart Street, then run to Boylston and do a couple miles around the Common, get back to studying, hit the hay.

My Reality– Forgot about a doctor’s appointment in the suburbs, had to meet my dad at Logan Airport where he was dropping off my mom so she could go to Chicago, jumped into the mini-van to catch a ride to Chelmsford (after taking a picture at the American Airlines departure terminal to trick a few friends into thinking I skipped town due to finals stress), headed to the Burlington Mall where dad was meeting an employee to hand off his paycheck, but the employee was accidentally waiting at the Woburn Mall (yes, it exists), loud f-bomb, quick u-turn, then paycheck in Javier’s hands, then Dad has to go to Home Depot for a job (tax-free in Nashua), so somehow my plan to study in Boston ended up with me outlining at a Panera in New Hampshire. Isn’t that life?

After sitting on my butt, reading for hours, I felt pain in my right hip  which where my best friend, I am going to call him the Guru since I go to him for every running-related issue, noticed I was super-tight. I am learning that running is also about recovery. So today I found a great half-hour stretch routing on Youtube, and boom, the hip feels amazing. Ready for a long one tomorrow. Here’s Frankie helping me get my stretch in:

Image

Since  I stretched it out today, the Guru ran 5.5 for me and for Boston. He’s getting ready for end of year/finals stuff too, so I am very thankful he took the time out for a run. 

Today on the news I saw the driver of the car that was hijacked by the bombing suspects did not want to be identified by the media. He said that he didn’t want to be mistaken for a hero, because he was only trying to save himself. I really appreciated his honesty. He could have taken so many liberties with that moment, painted his escape in so many ways, but he chose to be honest and admit that self-preservation guided him out of the car at the exact right moment. Of course, in the end, that quick-thinking, no matter the motive, really did make him a hero. It sounds like he is not going to like the media attention when his name is released on public record if this thing goes to trial. There must be a sort of embarrassment  or at least intense pressure, to be labeled a hero when you’re merely acting on instinct. But, even looking at it through objective causation, it was his action that led police to the suspects. So thanks, Danny. And hopefully the press will be gentle when they find out your real name. 

That’s it tonight. Goodnight Massachusetts (and thanks for today New Hampshire).

