Day Sixteen

by sarajaneafshar

Finals Season

Run to wake up, then study, study, study! Beach was beautiful today! I can’t even believe I am about to say this, but I passed the point where running is a chore. Now I actually enjoy it. I don’t constantly think “when is it going it end!”. And as any runner will tell you, your mind will end a run long before your body will. As the Guru tells me, “Pain isn’t real, keeping running.”

Image

It’s too early for controversy, and honestly, I have really only experienced fair-mindedness firsthand since the 15th, but still, I have seen ridiculous xenophobic remarks here and there via the “anonymity” of Facebook. As the child of legal, hardworking immigrants who knew assimilation can be just as important as retaining cultural values I have a friendly reminder for anyone who may have forgot:

Image

 

But more important than any immigrant pride you or I may have, more important than any Boston pride, Irish pride, Mayflower pride, and more important than generations and generations of being an American pride is the lack of pride that leads to unity.

“That one indeed is a man who, today, dedicateth himself to the service of the entire human race. The Great Being saith: Blessed and happy is he that ariseth to promote the best interests of the peoples and kindreds of the earth. It is not for him to pride himself who loveth his own country, but rather for him who loveth the whole world. The earth is but one country, and mankind its citizens.”  -Baha-u-llah

Let’s be there for each other. 

